RSS

Living the Fantasy

13 Jul

Sci Fi Promo Event Marketing Banner2

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve loved reading fantasy novels. There is something freeing about both reading and writing in this genre, something that enables the author and the reader to exist in realms beyond the imagination, places that seem so real and yet so surreal simultaneously. Currently, I’m working on edits for Creche (add it to your TBR list on Goodreads today), the sequel to my dark fantasy novel Cruxim, and I’m seeing even more fantastical elements creep in as I recreate the world of my Cruxim and their backstories (now that my POV character, Amedeo, has learned a little more about his past). If you want advance notice of Creche’s release, as well as a special introductory price for mailing list members, please sign up for my mailing list at http://eepurl.com/vk_bP

Nowadays, of course, the lines between fantasy and science fiction and swords and sorcery are blurred, and of course, it would be remiss of me to mention the genre without a nod to the greats, like Tolkien, CS Lewis, Mervyn Peake, Raymond E. Fiest and Frank Herbert. But I’m also inspired by the success of more modern fantasy authors and by many fantasy books from my childhood that still resonate with me as a reader. Among them are Robert O’Brien’s The Silver Crown, Maurice Gee’s Halfmen of O, and The Seventh Princess.

As a result, when Tim Flanagan approached me to see if I wanted to be part of the Science Fiction and Fantasy “BIG COMPETITION” Blog Hop and Book Sale, I jumped at the chance. There are some truly wonderful science fiction and fantasy authors participating, and ALL of their books are available for just 99c for 13 and 14 July. Check out the complete list at http://timflanaganauthor.wordpress.com/promotional-events/sci-fi-fantasy-promo-event/

Sci Fi Promo Event Poster

There are also fabulous prizes and giveaways over on the blog page, including Amazon giftcards, signed paperback and other great prizes, so do be sure to enter. I’d also love to hear about your favourite science fiction or fantasy novels in the comments.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Living the Fantasy

  1. Marie Phillips

    July 29, 2013 at 12:55 am

    Wow! HOW did I miss this opportunity as a scifi writer?Good luck with this!!

     

Leave a Reply

