RSS

And not before time…

06 Jan

cruxim for amazon 2

 

I know it has now been an age since I last posted on here, but there is a reason … and here it is: I finally managed to finish my gothic paranormal romance novel, Cruxim, and to go through the rounds of betas and edits to whip it into shape. It is now available on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. It is a strange feeling. When I self-published my poetry, short stories and kids’ books on Amazon last year, my expectations were relatively low. I did it largely as an experiment. Publishing a novel feels both exhilarating and a little terrifying. I hope it does well, but I also know that this is such a hit-and-miss kind of an industry. All I can really do is let my little novel fly and see how it goes.

My goal now is to finish writing the sequel before mid-year, and to spend less time on the computer and more time out in the open with the kid and family this year. That’s not a resolution exactly, just something I hope will happen. I”m scaling back my editing to do some more writing and some more living. I wish you all a very Happy 2013. May all of your publishing dreams come true this year too.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “And not before time…

  1. gerrymccullough

    January 7, 2013 at 1:35 am

    Great news, Karin – hope the book does really well. Shared and tweeted.

     
    • Karin Cox

      January 9, 2013 at 1:50 pm

      Thanks, Gerry. Your support has been invaluable. Whether it does well or not, I enjoyed the process immensely once I got into it. And I suppose that is the main thing. πŸ™‚

       
  2. Belinda Pollard (@Belinda_Pollard)

    January 7, 2013 at 6:48 am

    Congrats, Karin! Good on you for diving in. Hope it does amazingly well. πŸ™‚

     
    • Karin Cox

      January 9, 2013 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks, Belinda. And especially thanks for all your help this year in keeping me sane and laughing as we both chewed through our enormous piles of work!

       
  3. Lene

    January 7, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Congratulations! I’m almost ready to release mine, so I know a little of what you feel. Terrifying and exhilerating, all at once. Cruxim looks good – I’m looking forward to reading it!

     
    • Karin Cox

      January 9, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      It certainly is, Lene. Hitting publish brings out a strange kind of panic. And as for watching the rankings/sales reports, well that is a torture of it’s own kind. But you know what: I am a classic non-finisher when I’m writing my own books (I’m better when ghostwriting as I have a deadline and a client). I have to remember I am my own client when I’m writing. So just getting it done feels like a big achievement.

       
  4. Cheryl Shireman (@cherylshireman)

    January 9, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I grabbed my copy! Really looking forward to reading it. Congrats Karin! So proud of you. You are an amazing woman – able to juggle babies, editing, cat care, writing, and leap tall buildings in a single bound! Go get ’em girl!

     
    • Karin Cox

      January 9, 2013 at 1:48 pm

      I don’t feel like I can leap tall buildings right now. But coming from a superwoman like you, Cheryl Shireman, that is high praise. It has been tough, but all worth it. And thank you for grabbing a copy. I couldn’t have done it without you!

       
  5. TBM

    January 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Congrats Karin! I just purchased a copy and I look forward to reading it–after I complete a few projects, such as getting my cover ready for my novel and finally hitting the publish button. I wish you well and I hope this year allows you many opportunities to get away from work and enjoy your time with loved ones. You deserve it!

    T B Markinson

     
    • Karin Cox

      January 19, 2013 at 8:16 am

      Thanks so much, TB. It is an exciting feeling to finally hit publish, and I’m looking forward to you sharing it when you get Adventures up and active. I hope you enjoy Cruxim. It is very different to what I usually write, but so far the critics seem to be okay with that. Thanks so much for commenting and for buying a copy. Cheers Karin

       
      • TBM

        January 19, 2013 at 8:35 pm

        From the reviews I’ve read, people are enjoying Cruxim and are eagerly waiting for the second. That’s great! Hopefully soon I’ll have some time to curl up on the couch and read. Have a wonderful weekend. It’s cold and snowing in London, which I love, but my dog is not happy one bit.

         

Leave a Reply

