RSS

Darkness Unleashed: Guest Blogger Robyn Porter

30 Mar

My guest blogger today is Robyn Porter, prolific author of the Darkness Unleashed series and the Guardians of Nature series, among other books. Robyn published her first novel back in 2007 and was inspired to keep on telling stories about the darker side of life and human nature.

One of Robyn's many titles

Q.1 Tell me about your journey to self-publication and how satisfied you are with the results?  Originally I started out with small epubs, but found them to be very restrictive. I truly enjoy the artistic freedom of going the indie route now.

Q.2 You’ve got quite a list of novels out now, Robyn. How do you find the time to write and still lead your everyday life? Most of the books out are from my original backlist, but new novels have also been released. Finding the time is much more challenging. I write whenever I’m able to.

Q.3 Name a few other authors that have inspired you? I adore Trudi Canavan, as well as Anne Bishop, and Shea MacLeod is an indie author who has shown just how great this new venture can be. She’s done fantastic.

Q.4 Your covers are really vivid and striking. Do you work with a cover designer to make them so eye-catching?  All but one of my books have been done by a professional cover artist. I think, unless you have a great background in designing, leaving that aspect to a professional is best. I’ve never been disappointed.

Q.5 What life experiences have you drawn on in writing your novels?  Everything I see around me, I find ways to incorporate into what I write. Between death of those close, to watching people walk in the street, everything can have an impact somewhere.

Q.6 Do you listen to music when you write? If so, recommend some rockin’ writing tunes for the nice people.  Sometimes yes, sometimes no. I adore listening to all sorts when I do though. For fight scenes, the grittier, harder and darker it is the better. Stuff from Creed, Drowning Pool and Skillet work for me.

Q.7 Which other publishing professionals have you used on your journey, for example editors, formatters, publicists?  I’ve had quite a few beta readers and editors who do this on the side help out. The problem with writing a book is trying to self-edit you miss things way too easy. You are so familiar with the storyline, it’s easy to have your mind know what you mean but not actually have it detailed right.

Q.8 Tell me one crazy fact few people know about Robyn Porter. I can lucid dream. Seriously, it makes it fun to dream and manipulate what I see and how it could fit into a storyline.

Q.9 What have you found to be the most useful channel for promoting your books? Twitter and Facebook have been fantastic. It allows you to connect with so many different people.

Q10. What is the one thing you hope readers take away with them after reading your novels? I want them to feel like they were there, that they were able to embrace the world I created and remember it.

Thanks for stopping by, Robyn. Best of luck with it.

Visit Robyn’s website at http://www.rgporter.net/bio.html
Follow Robyn’s blog: http://rgporter.blogspot.com.au/
Buy Robyn’s books:

Amazon

Smashwords

B&N

Goodreads 

Follow her on Facebook

Follow her on Twitter @AuthorRGPorter

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Darkness Unleashed: Guest Blogger Robyn Porter

  1. Tara West

    March 30, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Nice interview, Robyn, and I agree about Shea. She inspires me, too.

     
  2. Loreto Weir

    March 31, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Great interview, I agree love the art work on the covers. Have to confess I have not read one of Robyn,s books yet! After reading this interview I have a feeling that will be on the cards in the near future thank you..

     
  3. Jonathan Dalar

    April 1, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Great interview, Karin. Enjoy the perspective of other self-publishers out there, as it’s still a very dynamic and unknown animal.

    I’ve passed The Versatile Blogger award onto you, which you can do with as you will. Consider it my endorsement of your blog, which is a great source of information to writers. More info on my blog if you’re interested.

     

Leave a Reply

