RSS

Review Finding Site: Great Idea or Simply Insane-making?

15 Jan

It may be that I’m completely certifiable for even thinking about it, but I’ve decided that a really useful writers’ resource would be a site (name is yet to be confirmed), which allows indie authors to search for review sites that are suited to their content.

The idea was to collate information for a free ebook that would feature useful promotional information for indie authors. It will touch base on the basic pros and cons on some of the standard promo sites, Goodreads, LibraryThing etc, as well as list blogs and reviews sites that promote indie authors. I’d also like to include regular things like established blog tours, or annual blog hops.

Hopefully, this information will also be able to be included in the website, which will provide search functionality. The aim is to start collating the information in February to get things moving in March. If you know of a great review or promotional site, or if you review books yourself and wish to be involved, please visit my site and fill out the submission form. Inclusion is free and the ebook will also be free http://www.editorandauthor.com/review-finder.html

Also, if you have any tips to add regarding promotional sites you’ve had great success with, please email me on karinwork@hotmail.com. I’d love to hear your success stories as the aim is to scatter quotes from authors (and a link to their books/author central site) throughout the ebook.

Once the website is up and running, if it is successful and receives a high hit rate, I’d also love to include paid advertising and promotions for approved (read vetted) author services and also a place where indie books can be featured and promoted.

If you’d like to be involved in any way, please let me know. I’ll be scratching together the material and funds in my spare time, with the potential of using fundit or crowdsourcing it to help get things moving. I’m excited about it, but also knowing I’ll have my work cut out for me.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Review Finding Site: Great Idea or Simply Insane-making?

  1. Belinda Pollard

    January 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Good idea Karin. I’m currently working on a site to connect indie authors with a whole heap of different self-publishing ideas and resources and reviews and websites, so your new site will definitely be on it!

    I’m also glad to see you plan to make the site work for its living. I think it’s a wise strategy (so long as you do it right of course, which I’m sure you will). You’ll work hard on the site and it should at least pay for its own hosting etc, as well as hopefully something for your time so you are able to spend more time on it and continually make it better!

     
  2. karincox

    January 19, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Thanks, Belinda. I imagine the site will pay for itself eventually. Mostly it is just that I needed to organise myself, too. So I need a way to keep track of review sites I’ve submitted to. I figure if I am putting in the work to spreadsheet or database all of these sites for personal use, I might as well share that knowledge and save someone else the job. The difficult thing is trying to figure out exactly how much setup the site will require. The ebook is just legwork and should be a piece of cake. Once I know what I’m in for, I can make it happen!

    One of the brilliant things about the indie community, to my mind, is its interconnectedness (as much as I really hate that word, it’s so ungainly). Indie publishing is so collaborative, rather than the (sometimes) dog-eat-dog world of traditional publishing. So I’ll be happy to link to and reference other sites that have a similar philosophy and are useful resources for indie authors, such as your site, Dave Gaughran’s site, Jessica Meig’s Indie Beware, Mark Williams International, Simon Royle’s Indie View, Kirsten Lamb’s blog, Joe Konrath’s, Joanna Penn’s blog etc.

    I’m by no means a gun marketer. Editing is my field of expertise, not marketing. So the idea is to refrain from dispensing “how to” marketing advice, but just to provide the site links and brief, helpful information about the site and about how to not spam or annoy those reviewers/sites. I’m happy to have as many affiliated partners or sites as possible. 🙂 And thanks too Belinda for retweeting. Much appreciated.

     
  3. Lene

    January 22, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    that’s a fantastic idea! I don’t have much of practical use to add to this discussion – I’m very new in the indie publishing area (currently doing rewrites on my first book). However, as someone who is new and completely overwhelmed, I cannot begin to tell you how useful something like this would be.

     
  4. philipparees

    January 26, 2012 at 5:03 am

    I quite agree about the generosity of Indie authors…came to you via David Gaughran… I think the idea for an integrated site for finding appropriate reviewers would be marvellous, and all the itemised ideas equally ( Box and Cox? as in quote from Aubrey’s brief lives…’It will come to my father anon’) seems appropriate for its intentions. Have listed you on my currently dormant WordPress blogsite…but activity will commence as soon as manuscript is posted! Thankyou for very succinct blogs on DG! Philippa

     
  5. gillyfraserGilly Fraser

    January 27, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    I’m with Lene on this one – I too am new to self-publishing (one book so far and plans for more) and swimming in a sea of self-marketing/editing/formatting/blogs/ etc etc, so your proposal sounds simple, straightforward and altogether super!

     

Leave a Reply

